top of page

Bess Goldstein

Poetry

Welcome to my online poetry journal! Feel free to read and contact me at any time.

photo.jpg
Home: Welcome

Let Me Grow

My First Book!

Let Me Grow

Finally, my first book is on the market. Please take a chance to look at it and purchase my work-- all the proceeds go to a women's shelter in PA. Thank you for all your support!

Home: Files
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureBess Goldstein

Sugar and Spice

Updated: Dec 17, 2018

sugar and spice,

and everything nice,

that's what little girls are made of.”


little girl, please listen.

drink these words like poison.

this is what little girls are made of.


big eyes, paper thin,

straight teeth, soft skin

that’s what little girls are made of.


“you are weak, stay inside.”

“you’re always sad, you’re always crying.”

this is what little girls are made of.


paint your face like a doll,

cookie cutters,

with waists so small.

they cut them out with safety scissors.


white liner pops your eyes

cover your blemishes, DON’T ask why.

green makeup covers bruises.


because pretty hurts!

look nice for your man.

beauty is pain

“i can see your bra strap”

this is what little girls are made of.


be a nice girl!

don’t say no, only thank you.

go on, give your hair a twirl!

remember, nice girls don’t drink too much.


watch your cup.

skirts’ too short, his hand slides up,

you were asking for it.


this is not

what little girls are made of.


Little girl, please listen

These words are not your prison!

This is not what you are made of.


iron and flowers

emotion and power

bravery from clenched fists.


hot sauce and scraped knees

passion and dignity

This.

is what girls are made of.


Strength and fire you still carry yourself.

You are strong because you cry.

You live on, you create life.

You, my girl, are more than just sugar and spice.

12 views0 comments

About The "Author"

I was born and raised in central New Jersey-- lovely, I know-- as a Quaker/Jewish child hybrid. I grew up with a love for reading and writing (as my dad was an English major). I lived and attended school in NJ until my sophomore year. I transitioned into a boarding school in Pennslyvania, where my passion for writing, art, performing, ACTIVISM, and (of course) poetry, flourished.


In my writing, you're going to find me. Whether that be my struggles, my thoughts, my stories, my successes, it really depends on what you decide to read. Feel free to contact me any time for questions or even just a conversation about stuff. Happy reading!

DSC_7333-L_edited.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page