top of page

Bess Goldstein

Poetry

Welcome to my online poetry journal! Feel free to read and contact me at any time.

photo.jpg
Home: Welcome

Let Me Grow

My First Book!

Let Me Grow

Finally, my first book is on the market. Please take a chance to look at it and purchase my work-- all the proceeds go to a women's shelter in PA. Thank you for all your support!

Home: Files
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureBess Goldstein

dear lover,

dear lover,

          I promise I will stop bringing up his name over late-night calls,  cups a bitter coffee, and my lonely bed.           I will give you my love like it is your first glass of water, your dry, thirsty eyes allow me to believe in second chances.           I will never trap you, pin you down like butterflies in the frame, for my broken wings know the feeling of watching your love say goodbye behind a piece of glass.           I promise we will make love without an expiration date tattooed on our inner thighs.           I will hold you, despite worrying that it may be the last time.           I promise I will wear your heart on my sleeve like new, putting the scratchy, hand-me-down fabric  back in the closet.           I’m sorry if he still makes me cry; his name sounds like guns falling onto the oak tree roots outside of your window.           I will grow from this.

I’m still waiting for those shots to stop ringing in my ears when you tell me you love me. I was just dragged out of a cold war, my blood is now too warm to clean up the battlefield he has made of me. dear lover,           I promise one day my wounds will heal, that the only scars you will need to love are my stretch marks.           I’m glad you understand that empty promises are Band-Aids over bones, they will never heal me. thank you for holding me as I bleed and cry, and thank you for letting me speak of him one last time.           sincerely,                    - your lover

37 views0 comments

About The "Author"

I was born and raised in central New Jersey-- lovely, I know-- as a Quaker/Jewish child hybrid. I grew up with a love for reading and writing (as my dad was an English major). I lived and attended school in NJ until my sophomore year. I transitioned into a boarding school in Pennslyvania, where my passion for writing, art, performing, ACTIVISM, and (of course) poetry, flourished.


In my writing, you're going to find me. Whether that be my struggles, my thoughts, my stories, my successes, it really depends on what you decide to read. Feel free to contact me any time for questions or even just a conversation about stuff. Happy reading!

DSC_7333-L_edited.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page