top of page

Bess Goldstein

Poetry

Welcome to my online poetry journal! Feel free to read and contact me at any time.

photo.jpg
Home: Welcome

Let Me Grow

My First Book!

Let Me Grow

Finally, my first book is on the market. Please take a chance to look at it and purchase my work-- all the proceeds go to a women's shelter in PA. Thank you for all your support!

Home: Files
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureBess Goldstein

Shrinking

Updated: Apr 3, 2019

her shoulders shrink into her chest as she sleeps

to give him more room on the bed.

some things aren’t getting said.


“have you grown?”

i watch her sip her white wine

out of the glass

that clinks loudly on the counter.

hit glass too hard and it will shatter.


“no…”

i listen to her sobs.

they come from anger,

they come from fear.


i feel her shaking arms collapse as we embrace

our knees shrinking to the ground.

you must have!”

but I haven’t grown, Mom.

it is the space surrounding us that seems to be

e x p a n d i n g.


the silence of her sneaking down the stairs

hides her cravings

for chocolate in the dark.

she lets the calories decide how much space she is allowed

to take up.


the warmth under her covers

allows her to stretch

and hide

from the growing


of broken glass,

drunken insults,

and my father’s stomach.


I feel my legs cross on the hot plastic of crowded subway cars

to make more room for him.

my thighs chafing,

because I am taught not to grow out,

but in.


“Inheritance is accidental.”

I think as I watch my mother

and her wine-soaked lips

from across the kitchen counter.

15 views0 comments

About The "Author"

I was born and raised in central New Jersey-- lovely, I know-- as a Quaker/Jewish child hybrid. I grew up with a love for reading and writing (as my dad was an English major). I lived and attended school in NJ until my sophomore year. I transitioned into a boarding school in Pennslyvania, where my passion for writing, art, performing, ACTIVISM, and (of course) poetry, flourished.


In my writing, you're going to find me. Whether that be my struggles, my thoughts, my stories, my successes, it really depends on what you decide to read. Feel free to contact me any time for questions or even just a conversation about stuff. Happy reading!

DSC_7333-L_edited.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page