top of page

Bess Goldstein

Poetry

Welcome to my online poetry journal! Feel free to read and contact me at any time.

photo.jpg
Home: Welcome

Let Me Grow

My First Book!

Let Me Grow

Finally, my first book is on the market. Please take a chance to look at it and purchase my work-- all the proceeds go to a women's shelter in PA. Thank you for all your support!

Home: Files
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureBess Goldstein

Funeral

Updated: Dec 17, 2018

First, I begged him to stop. Then, to open the door for me.

Before that night, I believed I would die sooner from my own weakness

than beneath his palms.

I know I am not dead,

but the funeral did happen.

When he pushed and held my body down,

he dug up the ground from underneath me.

And when his fingers grasped my throat,

I was lowered down into a grave.

Now here I lie—

a victim,

a survivor,

a dramatic,

a statistic,

a liar,

whatever the hell you want to call me,

laying there in an open casket

with tears burning my cheeks

wondering if this is my fault

because I wasn’t brave enough to scream stop

behind his concealing palms.

I hear the words from the people above me on solid group.

They speak about a woman—

Who was groped in the back of her 8th grade science class

Who was kicked in the ribs after refusing a kiss

Who was pulled into a bathroom at an arcade while wearing her favorite dress

Who was called a hooker by a passing driver while standing on the corner

Who was convinced that a “boyfriend” meant a “blowjob”

They speak about this woman

As if her life is measured by what happened to her body.

I don’t know the woman they talk about,

The woman I barely remember being.

I am so much more than what happened outside of those evil, evil hands.

I am reminded beneath all the dirt and darkness

that every woman deserves a grave.

The body needs to cry.

And the palm conceals nothing,

except the bruises and hickies that still lie on my neck.

12 views0 comments

About The "Author"

I was born and raised in central New Jersey-- lovely, I know-- as a Quaker/Jewish child hybrid. I grew up with a love for reading and writing (as my dad was an English major). I lived and attended school in NJ until my sophomore year. I transitioned into a boarding school in Pennslyvania, where my passion for writing, art, performing, ACTIVISM, and (of course) poetry, flourished.


In my writing, you're going to find me. Whether that be my struggles, my thoughts, my stories, my successes, it really depends on what you decide to read. Feel free to contact me any time for questions or even just a conversation about stuff. Happy reading!

DSC_7333-L_edited.jpg
Home: Contact
bottom of page